A Farewell to Cheese

Later today I will be heading west to go east, very far-east. There are few places in the world that are further away from the States. I am certainly going to miss everyone. I’ve never been separated from my family and friends for this long so we’ll see how I adapt. Skype, Facebook and NBA League Pass are sure to help with the transition process. Cliché as it sounds I’m not very good at saying goodbye. I prefer to just bounce and check in later. Forgive me if I did not offer you a proper adieu.

This morning I woke up very early…Dave Katz early. We went for a relaxing run with our dogs Scout and Wags. Unfortunately Harley was unable to go because he’s currently on the injured reserve list with a nasty, infected right paw, the result of making a mad dash for a deer in a wooded area (you have to respect the endeavor). He is out indefinitely from participating in runs, fetch, or tug of war. The early morning workout with the old man was just what I needed to relax me for the trip. I came home to a freshly brewed pot of coffee courtesy of Marilyn. She skillfully concealed her disappointment as the St. Louis Cardinals failed to make the playoffs and said a warm goodbye before heading to work.  

Daegu can also be spelled as Taegu.

I will be living in Daegu, South Korea. Once I arrive I will give a detailed description of what it is like there. By doing a good amount of research it sounds like an interesting place. In a nut shell, the city is the warmest region in South Korea and is known for its subtropical climate, beautiful women, fashion industry, apples, manufacturing industry (Samsung was founded there). Did I mention beautiful women? I’m excited to frequent Daegu Stadium, the second largest sports complex in South Korea. Daegu will be hosting the 2011 World Championships in Athletics. I plan on attending. I want to see first-hand if Usain Bolt is actually a human.  The country as whole is strongly influenced by Confucianism and especially this region. Not to self:  no wheelchair high-jacking involving seniors.

People have asked me if I’m nervous about the trip and I can honestly say that I have never been nervous in my entire life … except when I was a finalist in a spelling bee in Mrs. Clayton’s second grade class and I said “y” instead of “w” while trying to spell whimsical… okay the word was white. This bitter defeat remains entrenched deep inside me because I wanted to win the Garfield pencil very badly which was captured by Amanda Dubyna who I don’t even think liked Garfield.  I’m more excited than anything else. I think the biggest adjustment will be leading a life that does not involve very much cheese. Apparently, Korean dishes very seldom feature this amazing, delectable foodstuff… excuse me, I’m going to go gnaw on a block of Munster now.

Can I go an entire year without Utica Chicken Riggies?

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

